Broker Check

Team

How We Work

How We Work

Our reasons for becoming financial professionals are deeply personal. We repeatedly saw many friends and family struggling to find the help they needed to map out their financial future. We are confident that with our understanding of personal finance, coupled with our training as financial professionals, we can help people better prepare for the future. After years in the business, we have developed a reputation for educating individuals in an easy-to-understand manner so they can grasp personal finance and use those concepts to pursue their financial objectives. We feel a commitment to our community.

Our team approach adds perspective to all we do and provides increased benefits to our clients.

Meet Our Team

Financial Advisors

Hugh  T. Boyle

Financial Advisor

hugh@bmsadvisors.com

Hugh has a BS in civil engineering from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. (1979) He has worked for Fortune 500 companies. He has worked with small and start up technology companies. He has created and run numerous...

Read more

Doug Maher

Financial Advisor

doug@bmsadvisors.com

My mission is to add value to even the most knowledgeable investor through the support and guidance I provide. I help you identify your true needs and design a plan to help you pursue your goals. This plan helps you to create, preserve...

Read more

Jarrett Apa

Financial Advisor

jarrett@bmsadvisors.com

Jarrett Apa began his career as an Investment Advisor Representative in 2013 after graduating from Black Hills State University with a degree in Finance and Economics. Prior to his time at BHSU, Jarrett served four years in the United...

Read more

Nate Starkey, BFA™, WMS, CFS™

Financial Advisor

nate@bmsadvisors.com

Nate has spent over a decade working as a consultant to help other financial advisors address the needs of their clients all the over the country. Having an intimate knowledge of various investment strategies, planning software,...

Read more

Support Staff

Ashley Schnell

Financial Paraplanner

ashley@bmsadvisors.com

Ashley was born and raised in Rapid City. She attended college at Pázmány Péter in Piliscscaba, Hungary and studied Criminal Justice and Political Science at the University of South Dakota. Since returning home,...

Read more

Chelcey Shields Barnes

Client Account Specialist

chelcey@bmsadvisors.com

Chelcey is a native of St. Louis, Missouri. Being a Faith-Based Organization Leader’s daughter, Chelcey grew up very active in Faith-Based Organizations, helping the underprivileged, and very active in the community. Chelcey...

Read more

Cindy Sletten

Client Account Specialist

cindy@bmsadvisors.com

As a Client Account Specialist, Cindy assists in paperwork processing and meeting preparation. This position also assists our clients with making deposits to accounts, money transfers and distributions. If you need assistance with...

Read more

Linda Boll

Client Care Specialist

linda@bmsadvisors.com

Tracy Kaltvedt

Office Organizer

tracy@bmsadvisors.com

Born and raised in Harrisburg, SD, Tracy grew up very active in the community, The National FFA Organization, and her family. After her marriage to Brett in 1999, they raised their children (Kassidy and Briar) on a small acreage in...

Read more